Get More Information

Big wind on Vermont's ridges causes habitat fragmentation, degrades water-quality and divides our communities. Learn more about the issues.

Take Action & Contact Your Legislator

Our elected officials need to hear from you on the issue of utility-scale wind on our ridgelines. Click here to find their contact information and see how you can help spread the word. 

Blog Index
The journal that this archive was targeting has been deleted. Please update your configuration.


Ridgeprotectors, an all-volunteer, 501(c)(3), nonprofit organization is located in Vermont’s “Northeast Kingdom.”

Ridgeprotectors was founded 10 years ago by individuals in Caledonia County, in response to a proposal to put 16 industrial turbines on ridgelines in the towns of Sutton and Sheffield. Their goal was to protect the existing, intact Sheffield Heights area from further development. Unfortunately, the facility was constructed. Now, local residents must learn to live with its effects: noise and related health issues, shadow flicker, blinking red lights at night, loss of property value, and the prospect of having to abandon their homes.

Another wind energy generation project came along during the late stages of the Sheffield project. This one, located in Lowell, Vermont, is about 25 miles north and west of Sheffield. The Lowell project is 33% larger than Sheffield’s, and has generated a statewide debate on the efficacy of industrial wind turbines in Vermont.

Governance of Ridgeprotectors has shifted from a group primarily residing in the towns that were involved with the Sheffield project to those now working on the Lowell project.

Ridgeprotectors continues to help rural towns to protect their signature mountains and ridgelines from development through education/outreach and fundraising. We have, and will continue to be vigorous advocates for intelligent, effective, long-term climate change action strategies.

Board Members

Steve E. Wright, President
Craftsbury Common

Pat O'Neill, Secretary/Treasurer

Ron Holland

Robbin Clark

Mike Nelson